Scott Rolen, an 8-time Gold Glove third baseman, is the lone participant elected to the Baseball Corridor of Fame on the writers poll – Hartford Courant

NEW YORK — Slick-fielding third baseman Scott Rolen was elected to the Baseball Corridor of Fame on Tuesday with 5 votes to spare above the 75% wanted.

The seven-time All-Star and eight-time Gold Glove winner earned induction in his sixth look on the poll, picked on 297 of 389 ballots forged by the Baseball Writers’ Affiliation of America for 76.3%. A participant wanted 292 votes for election.

He turned the 18th third baseman elected to the Corridor, the fewest of any place. Rolen will be part of Fred McGriff, elected final month by the up to date baseball period committee, as inductees on July 23 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

“You don’t take into consideration this. You concentrate on doing the perfect you may,” Rolen stated. “I by no means thought the Corridor of Fame was going to be the reply.”

Rolen had a .281 batting common with 316 homers and 1,287 RBIs for the Philadelphia Phillies (1996-2002), St. Louis Cardinals (2002-07), Toronto Blue Jays (2008-09) and Cincinnati Reds (2009-12). He was a unanimous decide because the 1997 NL Rookie of the Yr and hit .421 because the Cardinals gained the 2006 World Collection.

Rolen’s five-vote margin tied for the Twelfth-smallest amongst gamers elected by the writers, and his 76.3% of the vote was the Tenth-lowest. He elevated from 63.2% final 12 months and from 10.2% in his first poll look in 2018.

That turned the bottom first-ballot proportion of a participant later elected. The earlier mark had been Duke Snider’s 17% in 1970. Snider was voted in with 86.5% in 1980.

First baseman Todd Helton was second with 281 votes (72.2%) and reliever Billy Wagner third with 265 (68.1%). Helton moved up from 52% and may have 5 extra appearances on the poll, whereas Wagner rose from 51% and has two further probabilities.

A number of others noticed massive will increase: Andruw Jones moved from 41.1% to 58.1%, Gary Sheffield from 40.6% to 55% in his next-to-last look and Jeff Kent from 32.7% to 46.5% in his ultimate 12 months. Kent may be thought of by the up to date baseball period committee in future years.

Gamers tainted by drug suspensions once more lagged. Alex Rodriguez was at 35.7%, up from 34.3%, and Manny Ramirez was at 33.2%, up from 28.9%.

Eight clean ballots had been submitted by writers, who’re eligible to vote after 10 consecutive years of membership within the BBWAA.

Amongst 14 gamers showing on the poll for the primary time, simply two reached the 5% threshold required to stay into consideration subsequent 12 months. Carlos Beltrán obtained 181 votes (46.5%), his whole seemingly affected by his position within the Houston Astros dishonest scandal en path to the 2017 World Collection title.

Reduction pitcher Francisco Rodríguez obtained 42 votes (10.8%).

Subsequent 12 months’s first-time eligibles embody Adrián Beltré, Joe Mauer, David Wright, José Bautista and Matt Holliday.

389 votes forged, 292 wanted

Scott Rolen 297 (76.35%), Todd Helton 281 (72.2), Billy Wagner 265 (68.1), Andruw Jones 226 (58.1), Gary Sheffield 214 (55.0), Carlos Beltrán 181 (46.5), Jeff Kent 181 (46.5), Álex Rodríguez 139 (35.7), Manny Ramírez 129 (33.2), Omar Vizquel 76 (19.5), Andy Pettitte 66 (17.0), Bobby Abreu 60 (15.4), Jimmy Rollins 50 (12.9), Mark Buehrle 42 (10.8), Francisco Rodríguez 42 (10.8), Torii Hunter 27 (6.9).

Acquired fewer than 20 votes (lower than 5%): Bronson Arroyo 1 (0.3), R.A. Dickey 1 (0.3), John Lackey 1 (0.3), Mike Napoli 1 (0.3), Huston Road 1 (0.3), Matt Cain 0, Jacoby Ellsbury 0, Andre Ethier 0, J.J. Hardy 0, Jhonny Peralta 0, Jered Weaver 0, Jayson Werth 0.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles